Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Liow Tiong Lai loses Bentong parliamentary seat

May 9, 2018 7:40 PM
20 0

BENTONG: MCA president Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai failed to retain the Bentong parliamentary seat in the 14th General Election (GE14).

Liow, representing the Barisan Nasional (BN), was defeated by PKR-DAP candidate Wong Tack, an environmental activist, with a majority of 2,032 votes.

The result was announced by returning officer Datuk Azhar Arshad at the Dewan Jubli Perak Sultan Haji Ahmad here today.

Meanwhile, Pahang Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob retained the Pelangai state seat for the eighth term since winning the seat in 1986.

Adnan defeated PKR-Amanah candidate Norhaizan Abu Hassan with a 2,312-vote majority.

Three other state seats under the Bentong parliamentary constituency, namely, Ketari, Sabai and Bilut were won by PKR-DAP candidates.

Young Syefura Othman defeated BN candidate Datuk Lau Hoi Keong to win the Ketari state seat with a majority of 3,710 votes.

The Sabai state seat was won by Kamache Doray Rajoo who defeated BN candidate Datuk R. Goonasakaren with a majority of 495 votes.


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0