Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Dr Mahathir is Pakatan's candidate for Langkawi

April 16, 2018 1:52 AM
24 0
Dr Mahathir is Pakatan's candidate for Langkawi

LANGKAWI: Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed is Pakatan Harapan's candidate for Langkawi in the 14th general election.

The announcement was made by Pakatan Harapan deputy chairman Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Ismail here tonight.

Prior to that, Dr Mahathir, who is also the opposition pact's chairman, himself announced his party's (Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia) candidates for Kedah, who will be standing in six parliamentary and 14 state seats.

Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (PPBM), of which Dr Mahathir is also chairman, has been served a temporary disbanding notice by the Registrar of Societies for not complying with its requirements.

Dr Mahathir's son and former Mentri Besar of Kedah, Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir, who is also deputy president of PPBM, will be contesting the parliamentary seat of Jerlun and the state seat of Jitra.

The other parliamentary candidates are Datuk Amiruddin Hamzah (Kubang Pasu), Wan Saiful Wan Jan (Pendang), Mohd Taufik Yaacob (Baling) and Akhramsyah Muammar Ubaidah Sanusi (Jerai).

The candidates for the state seats are Datuk A. Aziz Mohamud (Ayer Hitam), Halimahton Saadiah Saad (Bukit Kayu Hitam), Datuk Amiruddin Hamzah (Anak Bukit), Mohd Aizad Roslan (Bukit Lada), Syed Fadzil Syed Embun (Kuala Nerang), Abdul Razak Khamis (Sungai Tiang).


Share in social networks:

Comments - 0